femsense

2018 11 28 period poverty title

Period Poverty: What it can cost to be a girl

F

urinary hygiene is not a choice, but a necessity. And yet menstruation costs women and girls around the world much more than you might think.

If they can't afford tampons, let them drink champagne

The term "period poverty" refers to the lack of access to hygiene products for financial reasons. It is often associated purely with developing countries. Wrongly. In German-speaking countries, one in ten women cannot afford sanitary products, partly because tampons and sanitary towels are taxed like luxury items such as champagne. Over the course of our lives, we need 10,000 to 17,000 tampons or pads for our average 500 menstrual periods (at least if we don't use a menstrual cup). The Huffington Post calculated that being a menstruating woman "usually" costs over €20,000 in total.

Away with the taxes, away with the stigma

Some countries have already followed the call for tax cuts on feminine hygiene products: France reduced VAT from 20 to 5% in 2015, and the UK and Spain are also at between 5 and 10%. Individual pilot projects such as that of the Scottish administrative district of North Ayrshire Council show that even more is possible: the district provides feminine hygiene products free of charge in all schools and public buildings, in line with the motto "feminine hygiene products are not a choice, but a necessity". But as long as periods remain a social taboo, as long as TV adverts continue to depict menstrual blood with blue fluid; so long the very real financial problems of so many women are prevented from being either recognised or discussed on public platforms.

blog banner en

Removing taboos through education

But how do you take the embarrassment out of a socially taboo subject like period poverty? Probably only by starting with oneself and talking about it as freely and honestly as possible. Girls, boys and men alike need to be told that it is a completely natural process, pure biology and part of our reproductive system. The 28th of May was recently declared "International Menstrual Hygiene Day". This day is now representative of a movement that is slowly but surely progressing towards its goal of ensuring that access to hygiene products is no longer linked to a woman's financial means.

Attached is a list of some organisations in Europe and North America that are also committed to this goal. If you are interested, there are of course many other, more local organisations that are also dependent on support.

Periodic Table e.V. (Berlin, Germany)

Social Period e.V. (Germany)

Caritas Vienna (Austria)

Red Box Project (UK) The Homeless Period Project (UK) Bloody Good Period (UK)

FreePeriods (UK)

Freedom4Girls - a UK registered charity providing menstrual products to women and girls in Kenya EndPeriodPoverty Always (North America and UK)

Girls Helping Girls. Period (USA) She Pad Scheme (India)

Sources:

Hausbichler (2022), Cheaper or free menstruation

Menstruation deprives girls of the chance of education (2022)

Sen (2022), Menstruation forces India's women into isolation

Moss (2022), Women Spend More Than £18,000 On Having Periods In Their Lifetime

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Season of Love is here 💕

Finally fulfil your desire to have children with our smart ovulation tracker! More than 23,496 women have already become pregnant with us and YOU can be the next one! 🤰

20% save on our patches:
Code SPRING20

10% DISCOUNT
ONLY FOR A SHORT TIME

Become part of the femSense family and:

  • Enjoy exclusive offers
  • Exciting insights from our experts
  • Learn about your cycle and fertility

femsense

Period Poverty: Was es kosten kann, ein Mädchen zu sein

F

rauenhygiene ist keine Entscheidung, sondern eine Notwendigkeit. Und doch kostet ihre Menstruation Frauen und Mädchen weltweit viel mehr als man denkt.

Wenn sie sich keine Tampons leisten können, sollen sie doch Champagner trinken

Der Begriff „Period Poverty“ bezieht sich auf den fehlenden Zugang zu Hygieneprodukten aus finanziellen Gründen. Er wird gerne rein mit Entwicklungsländern in Verbindung gebracht. Fälschlicherweise. Denn: Im deutschsprachigen Raum kann sich jede zehnte Frau keine Hygieneartikel leisten, unter anderem deshalb, weil Tampons und Binden wie Luxusartikel wie Champagner besteuert werden. Im Laufe unseres Lebens benötigen wir für unsere durchschnittlich 500 Monatsblutungen 10.000 bis 17.000 Tampons oder Binden (zumindest, wenn wir keine Menstruationstasse benutzen). Die „Huffington Post“ errechnete, dass es „in der Regel“ insgesamt über 20.000 Euro kostet, eine menstruierende Frau zu sein.

Weg mit den Steuern, weg mit dem Stigma

Der Forderung nach Steuersenkungen auf Frauenhygieneprodukte sind bereits einige Länder gefolgt: Frankreich hat 2015 die Mehrwertsteuer von 20 auf 5% gesenkt, auch Großbritannien und Spanien sind bei zwischen 5 und 10%. Einzelne Pilotprojekte wie das des schottischen Verwaltungsbezirks North Ayrshire Council zeigen, dass noch mehr drin ist: Der Bezirk stellt Frauenhygieneartikel in allen Schulen und öffentlichen Gebäuden kostenlos zur Verfügung, ganz nach dem Motto „Frauenhygieneprodukte sind keine Entscheidung, sondern eine Notwendigkeit“. Aber solange die Periode ein gesellschaftliches Tabu bleibt, solange Fernsehwerbung weiterhin Menstruationsblut mit blauer Flüssigkeit darstellt; So lange wird verhindert, dass die sehr realen finanziellen Probleme so vieler Frauen weder anerkannt, noch auf öffentlichen Plattformen diskutiert werden.

Enttabuisierung durch Bildung

Aber wie nimmt man die Peinlichkeit aus einem gesellschaftlich so tabuisierten Thema wie dem der Period Poverty? Wahrscheinlich nur, indem man bei sich selbst beginnt und so frei und ehrlich wie nur möglich darüber spricht. Sowohl Mädchen, als auch Jungen und Männern muss verstärkt kommuniziert werden, dass es ein völlig natürlicher Prozess ist, reine Biologie und Teil unseres Fortpflanzungssystems. Der 28. Mai wurde vor Kurzem zum „Internationalen Tag der Menstruationshygiene“ erklärt. Dieser Tag steht nun stellvertretend für eine Bewegung, die langsam, aber sicher ihrem Ziel entgegenschreitet, dass der Zugang zu Hygieneartikeln nicht mehr an die finanziellen Mittel einer Frau gekoppelt ist.

Anhängend eine Liste einiger Organisationen in Europa und Nordamerika, die sich diesem Ziel ebenfalls verschrieben haben. Natürlich gibt es bei Interesse auch viele weitere, lokalere Organisationen, die ebenfalls auf Unterstützung angewiesen sind.

Periodensystem e.V. (Berlin, Deutschland)

Social Period e.V. (Deutschland)

Caritas Wien (Österreich)

Red Box Project (UK)

The Homeless Period Project (UK)

Bloody Good Period (UK)

FreePeriods (UK)

Freedom4Girls – a UK registered charity providing menstrual products to women and girls in Kenya EndPeriodPoverty Always (North America and UK)

Girls Helping Girls. Period (USA) She Pad Scheme (India)

Quellen:

Hausbichler (2022), Billiger oder gratis menstruieren

Menstruation nimmt Mädchen die Chance auf Bildung (2022)

Sen (2022), Menstruation zwingt Indiens Frauen in die Isolation

Moss (2022), Women Spend More Than £18,000 On Having Periods In Their Lifetime

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

10% RABATT
NUR FÜR KURZE ZEIT

Werde Teil der femSense Familie und:

  • Genieße exklusive Angebote
  • Spannende Einblicke von unseren Expertinnen
  • Lerne über deinen Zyklus und deine Fruchtbarkeit