femsense

The debate about social egg freezing

V

ou may have heard of the term "social egg freezing". This means that women have their eggs frozen so that they can later be used for artificial insemination (IVF). But how does egg freezing actually work? Can women really postpone having children so easily? And do you know what the legal situation is regarding social egg freezing in Austria? Let's take a look at this and more in this article.

The history of egg freezing

Without the possibilities of artificial fertilisation (IVF) there would probably be no egg freezing as we know it today. This is because the breakthrough of IVF technology in the second half of the 20th century was to a certain extent also a "gatekeeper" for further research and developments in the field of reproductive medicine. As early as the 1970s, doctors succeeded in freezing sperm and successfully thawing them again as part of artificial insemination. The breakthrough came just a few years later, when embryos created in the laboratory could be frozen and implanted in women as part of IVF treatment.

However, the freezing process is much more difficult with the female egg cell. This is because the egg cell is the largest cell in the human body and also has a high water content, which is why it can easily form ice crystals during the freezing and thawing process, which destroy the egg cell. The first "slow freezing methods" were also unreliable, because even if the egg cells survived the thawing process, this often led to damage to the chromosomes and thus to poor embryo development and low chances of survival.

This only changed in 2005, when a new "flash freezing method" called "oocyte vitrification" was developed by a Japanese embryologist. Vitrification is a process in which the oocytes are first treated with cryoprotectants and then immersed in liquid nitrogen. The egg cells cool down to -196°C at lightning speed so that they "vitrify", i.e. take on a glass-like structure. Compared to the older "slow freezing methods", which often took hours, vitrification only takes a few minutes and the chances of survival of the thawed egg cells have also been significantly increased.

The difference between social egg freezing and medical egg freezing

In principle, there are two categories of egg freezing: Medical egg freezing and social egg freezing. Medical egg freezing was to a certain extent the original form of egg freezing. The medical field that had a need for a method such as egg freezing was oncology. Women of reproductive age who develop cancer and therefore have to undergo treatment such as radiotherapy or chemotherapy have an increased risk of their egg reserves being reduced or even destroyed as a result of the treatment. If a woman has her eggs frozen before undergoing cancer treatment, she can use them later and still give birth to children who are genetically related to her. This method of freezing sperm already existed for male cancer patients. Egg freezing was soon extended to women with all kinds of fertility problems. These included, for example, severe cases of endometriosis, malignant ovarian tumours, etc.

However, the real "boom" in egg freezing only began when the first "healthy" women started to register for clinical studies on egg freezing. In 2012, both the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASMR) and the European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology (ESHRE) officially approved egg freezing for medical and non-medical purposes.

Because that female fertility is unfortunately limitedis not a new scientific finding. A woman is born with the "final" quantity of eggs. Over time, both the number and the quality of the remaining eggs continue to decline. The decline in the number of eggs begins in the early 30s and from 37 the rate of decline in the number of eggs increases rapidly. Using social egg freezing, women can therefore "preserve" their fertility and theoretically have children well into their 40s and even after the menopause. Women can therefore easily extend their fertile window, come closer to the longer-lasting fertility of men and take control of their life and family planning more easily and without time pressure. Right?

The chances of success with social egg freezing

Unfortunately, it's not quite as nice and easy in practice as it sounds in theory. Because egg freezing is no guarantee for later baby happiness! As egg freezing is a relatively new technology, there are not yet many comprehensive studies on this topic and the information available, especially on the actual probability of pregnancy with the frozen eggs, is not particularly clear. For example, one Styrian fertility clinic on its website refers to an unspecified study which states that 60- 85% of women who use their frozen eggs for fertilisation become successfully pregnant.

Larger-scale studies from the USA, however, speak a different language. The scientific publication "Fifteen years of autologous oocyte thaw outcomes from a large university-based fertility centre" from the New York University Langone Fertility Center, which analysed the data from the New York Fertility Institute over the last 15 years, came to the sobering conclusion that the chances of a successful pregnancy were only 39% on average. This was mainly due to the older age of the women who had their eggs frozen. The average age was around 38 years. If the women were under the age of 38 at the time of egg freezing, the chances were 51%. The quantity of eggs frozen also played a significant role. For example, women under the age of 38 who had 20 or more than 20 eggs frozen had a 70% chance of pregnancy.

The study by Marcia C. Inhorn also shows that it is not always so easy to have children despite egg freezing. For her book "Motherhood on Ice", she accompanied more than 150 women on their social egg-freezing journey and looked in particular at the socio-cultural reasons that led women to make this decision.

Of the more than 150 women during Inhorn's research period, 10 ultimately decided to use their frozen eggs for artificial fertilisation. Unfortunately, 8 of these women lost all of their frozen eggs in the process, meaning that no successful fertilisation took place. Only 2 of the women gave birth to healthy frozen egg babies. To summarise, egg freezing is no guarantee of a baby. Dr Cedars, President of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine, puts it this way: "The pregnancy rate is not as high as many women think. I always tell my patients: Just because you've frozen your eggs doesn't mean you have a 'baby' in the freezer. You only have a chance of getting pregnant".

The reasons for social egg freezing: self-realisation vs. "the mating gap"

As we mentioned at the beginning of this article, there is a lot of criticism of social egg freezing, claiming that it causes women to postpone having children indefinitely in order to focus on their careers. Marcia C. Inhorn also started her comprehensive egg freezing study with this assumption, only to be proven wrong.

In her numerous interviews with women who underwent social egg freezing treatment, it quickly became clear that most of them took this step because they simply did not have the right partner and were afraid that they would no longer be able to fulfil their desire to have children, as they would simply run out of time. Inhorn refers to this phenomenon as the "mating gap". According to her, well-educated, successful and well-off women in particular find it difficult to find a partner at "eye level" who also has a similar level of academic education, etc. In their opinion, the popularity of social egg freezing is therefore due to "dating problems" rather than "self-fulfilment reasons".

Social egg freezing in Germany and Austria & the costs

If you live in Germany and have already considered having your eggs frozen, then you can definitely do this if you are prepared to spend the necessary small change. As a brief overview: The average cost of the treatment is around €2,220 and must be paid privately, as statutory health insurance companies do not cover this. This includes the consultation, ultrasound, stimulation treatment, egg retrieval, cryopreservation of the eggs and the anaesthetic. In addition, there are the storage costs for the frozen eggs. These amount to around €300 per year.

For comparison: In the USA, you pay around €15,000 for social egg freezing.

If you live in Austria and are also toying with the idea of having your eggs frozen, then unfortunately we have to disappoint you: Social egg freezing is prohibited in Austria and you can only have this treatment carried out abroad. This means that Austria is only one of 8 countries worldwide that prohibit social egg freezing, alongside Bangladesh, China, Malaysia, Norway, Senegal and Singapore. In Austria, only "medical egg freezing" is permitted, i.e. only if there is a medical reason. However, even if there are medical reasons, Austrian health insurance companies do not pay for the treatment and the costs must be borne privately. In Austria, these amount to around €4,000 including the storage fee for the first year.

Petitions

We think that the ban on social egg freezing in Austria is completely outdated and demand that every woman should be allowed to take her reproductive care into her own independent hands! Bettina Toth, head endocrinologist and reproductive medicine specialist at MedUni Innsbruck, also says that social egg freezing is also a very personal decision that women do not make lightly, especially as the procedure, like any medical intervention, is associated with risks.

 We are not alone in calling for the ban on social egg freezing to be abolished; there are petitions across Austria that also want this to happen. The topic of social egg freezing was already discussed in the Austrian parliament in June 2023 as a result of a citizens' initiative, but so far without result.

However, the majority of the Austrian Bioethics Commission has already spoken out in favour of social egg freezing. This committee consists of 24 members and advises the Federal Chancellor on medical and ethical matters. The commission's opinion, which was submitted to the parliamentary committee for petitions and citizens' initiatives, states: "A general ban on the aforementioned methods to support family planning seems objectively inappropriate in a modern liberal and pluralistic society." 

Would you also like to make your voice heard in favour of social egg freezing?

Click here for the open petition of the initiative "Zukunft Kinder! - For self-determined family planning.

What do you think about social egg freezing? Let us know in the comments or on our Instagram know.

Sources:

Inhorn, Marica C. (2023). Motherhood on Ice: The Mating Gap and why women freeze their eggs. New York University Press

Cascante, Blakemore, DeVore et. al (18/05/2022). Fifteen years of autologous oocyte thaw outcomes from a large university-based fertility centre

Kolata (06/07/2023). 'Sobering Study'shows Challenges of Egg Freezing

SOCIAL FREEZING - Determine the optimal time for your desired child (16.04.2024)

Egg freezing (16.04.2024)

Luttenberger (12/11/2023). Freezing still prohibited

Subscribe to the newsletter

and never miss new blog posts again!

Tina is the Marketing Manager at femSense and firmly believes that great things happen when women support and empower each other, because in this "men's-world" there clearly needs to be more sisterhood. She lives in harmony with her superpower aka her cycle and writes about all the topics that matter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

10% DISCOUNT
ONLY FOR A SHORT TIME

Become part of the femSense family and:

  • Enjoy exclusive offers
  • Exciting insights from our experts
  • Learn about your cycle and fertility

femsense

Die Debatte um Social Egg Freezing

V

ielleicht hast du ja auch schon einmal von dem Begriff „Social Egg Freezing „gehört. Dieser besagt, dass Frauen ihre Eizellen einfrieren lassen, um sie dann später für eine künstliche Befruchtung (IVF) nutzen zu können. Doch wie funktioniert Egg Freezing überhaupt? Können Frauen damit wirklich so einfach das Thema „Kinder kriegen“ nach hinten verschieben? Und weißt du, wie die Rechtslage zum Thema Social Egg Freezing in Österreich aussieht? Das und noch mehr wollen wir uns in diesem Beitrag mal ansehen.

Die Entstehungsgeschichte von Egg Freezing

Ohne die Möglichkeiten der künstlichen Befruchtung (IVF) gäbe es heute wohl auch kein Egg Freezing, so wie wir es kennen. Denn der Durchbruch der IVF-Technologie in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhundert war gewissermaßen auch ein „Gate-Keeper“ für weitere Forschungen und Entwicklungen im Bereich der reproduktiven Medizin. Bereits in den 1970er Jahren gelang es Mediziner*innen, Spermien einzufrieren und diese im Rahmen der künstlichen Befruchtung erfolgreich wieder zu aufzutauen. Bereits ein paar Jahre später folgte dann der Durchbruch und man konnte im Labor kreierte Embryonen einfrieren und Frauen ebenfalls im Zuge einer IVF-Behandlung einsetzen.

Mit der weiblichen Eizelle gestalte sich der Prozess des Einfrierens allerdings als deutlich schwieriger. Denn die Eizelle ist die größte Zelle im menschlichen Körper, die auch einen hohen Wasseranteil aufweist, weswegen sie im Prozess des Einfrierens und wieder Auftauens leicht Eiskristalle bilden kann, die die Eizelle zerstören. Auch erste „Slow Freezing Methoden“ waren unzuverlässig, denn selbst wenn die Eizellen den Auftau-Prozess überlebten, führte dieser oft zu einer Schädigung der Chromosomen und so zu einer schlechten Embryo-Entwicklung sowie geringer Überlebenschancen.

Das ändert sich erst im Jahr 2005, als eine neue „Flash-Freezing Methode“ namens „Oocyte Vitrification“, die sogenannte „Eizellen-Vitrifikation“ von einem japanischen Embryologen entwickelt wurde. Die Vitrifikation ist ein Prozess, bei dem die Eizellen zuerst mit Kryoprotektiva behandelt werden und dann in flüssigen Stickstoff getaucht werden. Die Eizellen kühlen so blitzschnell auf -196°C hinunter, sodass sie „verglasen“, also eine glas-ähnliche Struktur bekommen. Im Vergleich zu den älteren „Slow Freezing Methoden“, die oft Stunden gedauert haben, dauert die Vitrifikation nur ein paar Minuten und auch die Überlebenschancen der aufgetauten Eizellen wurden so signifikant erhöht.

Der Unterschied zwischen Social Egg Freezing und Medical Egg Freezing

Prinzipiell unterscheidet man beim Egg- Freezing zwei Kategorien: Das Medical und das Social Egg Freezing. Das Medical Egg Freezing war gewissermaßen auch die Ursprungs-Form des Egg Freezing. Der medizinische Teilbereich, der Bedarf für eine Methode wie das Egg Freezing hatte, war die Onkologie. Frauen im reproduktiven Alter, die an Krebs erkranken und sich deswegen einer Behandlung wie einer Bestrahlung oder einer Chemotherapie unterziehen müssen, haben nämlich durch die Behandlung ein erhöhtes Risiko, dass ihre Eizellreserven reduziert oder sogar zerstört werden.  Lässt sich eine Frau vor einer Krebs-Behandlung ihre Eizellen einfrieren, kann sie später auf diese zurückgreifen und kann so immer noch Kinder zur Welt bringen, die mit ihr genetisch verwandt sind. Für männliche Krebspatienten gab es mit dem Einfrieren der Spermien diese Methode ja bereits. Bald wurde das Egg Freezing auch für Frauen mit jeglichen Arten von Fertilitätsproblemen ausgeweitet. Dazu zählten zum Beispiel schwere Fälle von Endometriose, bösartige Eierstocktumore etc.

Der eigentliche „Boom“ des Egg-Freezings begann allerdings erst, als die ersten „gesunden“ Frauen anfingen, sich für klinische Studien zum Thema Egg Freezing zu melden. 2012 haben dann sowohl die American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASMR) sowie die European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology (ESHRE) Egg Freezing für medizinische sowie für nicht-medizinische Zwecke offiziell freigegeben.

Denn dass die weibliche Fruchtbarkeit leider begrenzt ist, ist keine allzu neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnis. Eine Frau kommt bereits mit der „finalen“ Menge ihrer Eizellen auf die Welt. Mit der Zeit nimmt sowohl die Anzahl als auch die Qualität der noch vorhandenen Eizellen immer weiter ab. Der Abfall der Anzahl der Eizellen beginnt bereits in den frühen 30ern und ab 37 nimmt die Geschwindigkeit der Abnahme der Eizellenanzahl rasant zu. Mittels Social Egg Freezing kann Frau so also ihre Fruchtbarkeit „konservieren“ und so theoretisch auch bis weit in ihre 40er und theoretisch sogar nach ihrer Menopause Kinder auf die Welt bringen. Frauen können so also problemlos ihr fruchtbares Fenster verlängern, sich an die länger andauernde Fruchtbarkeit von Männern annähern und leichter und ohne Zeitdruck ihre Lebens- und Familienplanung in die Hand nehmen. Oder?

Die Erfolgschancen bei Social Egg Freezing

Ganz so nett und leicht, wie es in der Theorie klingt, ist es in der Praxis aber dann leider doch nicht. Denn Egg Freezing ist kein Garant für späteres Babyglück! Da Egg Freezing eine doch recht junge Technologie ist, gibt es zu diesem Thema noch nicht viele umfassende Studien und die Informationslage, vor allem über die tatsächliche Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Schwangerschaft mit den eingefrorenen Eizellen, ist nicht besonders eindeutig. So verweist etwa eine steirische Kinderwunschklinik auf ihrer Website auf eine nicht näher definierte Studie, die besagt, dass 60- 85% der Frauen, die ihre gefrorenen Eizellen für eine Befruchtung nutzen, erfolgreich schwanger werden.

Größer angelegte Studien aus den USA sprechen hier hingegen eine andere Sprache. Die wissenschaftliche Publikation „Fifteen years of autologous oocyte thaw outcomes from a large university-based fertility center” des New York University Langone Fertility Center, die die Daten des New Yorker Kinderwunsch-Instituts der letzten 15 Jahren auswerte, kam zu dem ernüchternden Ergebnis, dass die Erfolgschancen einer Schwangerschaft im Schnitt nur bei 39% lagen. Das hatte vor allem mit dem höheren Alter der Frauen zu tun, die ihre Eizellen einfrieren ließen. Dieses lag im Schnitt bei etwa 38 Jahren. Waren die Frauen zum Zeitpunkt des Egg Freezing unter 38 Jahren, so lagen die Chancen bei 51%. Auch die Menge der eingefrorenen Eizellen spielte eine signifikante Rolle. So hätten etwa Frauen unter 38 Jahren, die 20 oder mehr als 20 Eizellen einfrieren ließen, sogar eine 70%ige Chance einer Schwangerschaft.

Dass es trotz Egg Freezing mit dem Kinderwunsch nicht immer so einfach ist, zeigt auch die Studie von Marcia C. Inhorn. Für ihr Buch „Motherhood on Ice“ hat sie mehr als 150 Frauen auf ihrer Social Egg-Freezing Reise begleitet und sich vor allem auch die sozio-kulturellen Gründe angeschaut, die Frauen zu dieser Entscheidung bewogen haben.

Von den mehr als 150 Frauen haben sich während Inhorns Recherchezeitraum schlussendlich 10 davon entschlossen, ihre gefrorenen Eizellen für eine künstliche Befruchtung zu nutzen. Leider verloren davon 8 Frauen alle ihre gefrorenen Eizellen in diesem Prozess, sodass es zu keiner erfolgreichen Befruchtung gekommen ist. Lediglich 2 der Frauen brachten gesunde „Frozen Egg Babies“ auf die Welt. Zusammenfassend lässt sich also sagen, dass Egg Freezing keine Garantie für ein Baby ist. Dr. Cedars, Präsidentin der American Society for Reproductive Medicine, formuliert es so: “Die Schwangerschaftsrate ist nicht so hoch wie viele Frauen denken. Ich sage meinen Patientinnen immer: Nur weil du deine Eizellen eingefroren hast, hast du kein „Baby“ in der Tiefkühltruhe. Du hast lediglich eine Chance, Schwanger zu werden“.

Die Gründe für Social Egg Freezing: Selbstverwirklichung vs. „The Mating Gap“

Wie wir bereits eingangs erwähnt haben, gibt es gegen Social Egg Freezing viele kritische Stimmen, die besagen, dass Frauen dadurch das Thema Kinder kriegen auf unbestimmte Zeit nach hinten verschieben, um sich ihrer Karriere zu widmen. Mit dieser Annahme hat auch Marcia C. Inhorn in ihre umfassende Egg Freezing Studie gestartet, nur um dann eines Besseren belehrt zu werden.

In ihren zahlreichen Interviews mit Frauen, die sich einer Social Egg Freezing Behandlung unterzogen, kristallisierte sich schnell heraus, dass die meisten diesen Schritt wagten, da ihnen schlicht und einfach der passende Partner fehlte und sie Angst hatten, sich sonst ihren Kinderwunsch nicht mehr erfüllen zu können, da ihnen schlicht und einfach die Zeit davonlaufen würde. Inhorn bezeichnet dieses Phänomen als den „Mating Gap“. Demnach hätten es vor allem gut ausgebildete, erfolgreiche und gut situierte Frauen schwer, einen Partner auf „Augenhöhe“ zu finden, der ebenfalls einen ähnlich akademischen Bildungsgrad etc. aufweist. Ihrer Meinung nach ist die Beliebtheit von Social Egg Freezing also eher „Dating-Problemen“ anstatt „Selbstverwicklichungs-Gründen“ geschuldet.

Social Egg Freezing in Deutschland und Österreich & die Kosten

Wenn du in Deutschland lebst und dir schon mal überlegt hast, deine Eizellen einfrieren zu lassen, dann kannst du das durchaus machen, wenn du bereit bist, das nötige Kleingeld dafür in die Hand zu nehmen. Als kleine Übersicht: Die Kosten für die Behandlung betragen im Schnitt etwa 2.220€ und sind privat zu bezahlen, da gesetzliche Krankenkassen diese nicht übernehmen. Darin inkludiert sind die Beratung, Ultraschall, Stimulationsbehandlung, Eizellentnahme, Kryokonservierung der Eizellen sowie die Anästhesie. Dazu kommen noch die Lagerungskosten der gefrorenen Eizellen. Diese belaufen sich auf etwa 300€ pro Jahr.

Zum Vergleich: In den USA zahlt man für Social Egg Freezing in etwa 15.000€.

Lebst du in Österreich und spielst ebenfalls mit dem Gedanken, deine Eizellen einfrieren zu lassen, dann müssen wir dich leider enttäuschen, denn: In Österreich ist Social Egg Freezing verboten, du kannst diese Behandlung nur im Ausland durchführen lassen. Damit ist Österreich neben Bangladesch, China, Malaysia, Norwegen, Senegal und Singapur nur eines von 8 Ländern weltweit, dass Social Egg Freezing verbietet. In Österreich ist nur „Medical Egg Freezing“ erlaubt, also nur wenn ein medizinischer Grund vorliegt. Doch selbst wenn medizinische Gründe vorliegen, zahlen die österreichischen Krankenkassen zu der Behandlung nicht dazu und die Kosten müssen privat getragen werden. In Österreich belaufen sich diese auf ca. 4000€ inkl. Lagerungsgebühr für das erste Jahr.

Petitionen

Wir finden das Verbot des Social Egg Freezing in Österreich absolut veraltert und fordern, dass jede Frau ihre reproduktive Vorsorge selbst und unabhängig in die Hand nehmen sollen dürfte! Denn dass Social Egg Freezing darüber hinaus auch eine sehr persönliche Entscheidung ist, die Frauen nicht leichtfertig treffen, sagt auch Bettina Toth, leitende Endokrinologin und Reproduktionsmedizinerin an der MedUni Innsbruck, vor allem da die Prozedur wie jeder medizinische Eingriff mit Risiken verbunden ist.

 Mit der Forderung nach der Abschaffung des Social Egg Freezing Verbots sind wir nicht alleine, es gibt österreichweit Petitionen, die dies ebenfalls durchsetzen möchten. Bereits im Juni 2023 wurde im österreichischen Parlament als Folge einer Bürgerinitiative das Thema Social Egg Freezing besprochen, jedoch bis jetzt ohne Ergebnis.

Die österreichische Bioethikkommission hat sich jedoch bereits mehrheitlich für das Social Egg Freezing ausgesprochen. Dieses Gremium besteht aus 24 Mitglieder*innen und berät den Bundeskanzler in medizinisch-ethischen Angelegenheiten. In der Stellungnahme der Kommission, die dem Parlamentsausschuss für Petitionen und Bürgerinitiativen vorgelegt wurde, heißt es: „Ein generelles Verbot der genannten Methoden zur Unterstützung der Familienplanung erscheint in einer modernen liberalen und pluralistischen Gesellschaft sachlich unangebracht.“ 

Du möchtest ebenfalls deine Stimme für Social Egg Freezing stark machen?

Hier geht es zur offenen Petition der Initiative „Zukunft Kinder! – Für eine selbstbestimmte Familienplanung.

Wie stehst du zum Thema Social Egg Freezing? Lass es uns gerne in den Kommentaren oder auf unserem Instagram wissen.

Quellen:

Inhorn, Marica C. (2023). Motherhood on Ice: The Mating Gap and why women freeze their eggs. New York University Press

Cascante, Blakemore, DeVore et. al (18.05.2022). Fifteen years of autologous oocyte thaw outcomes from a large university-based fertility center

Kolata (06.07.2023). Sobering Study‘shows Challenges of Egg Freezing

SOCIAL FREEZING – Bestimmen Sie den optimalen Zeitpunkt für Ihr Wunschkind (16.04.2024)

Einfrieren von Eizellen (16.04.2024)

Luttenberger (12.11.2023). Einfrieren noch verboten

Zum Newsletter anmelden

und nie wieder neue Blogbeiträge verpassen!

Tina ist Marketing Managerin bei femSense und ist fest davon überzeugt, dass großartige Dinge passieren, wenn Frauen sich gegenseitig supporten und empowern, denn in dieser „Men's-World" braucht es eindeutig mehr Sisterhood. Sie lebt im Einklang mit ihrer Superpower aka ihrem Zyklus und schreibt über alle Themen, die wichtig sind.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

10% RABATT
NUR FÜR KURZE ZEIT

Werde Teil der femSense Familie und:

  • Genieße exklusive Angebote
  • Spannende Einblicke von unseren Expertinnen
  • Lerne über deinen Zyklus und deine Fruchtbarkeit